Rep. Connolly and Sen. Edwards launch Housing For All caucus

(BOSTON – 02/07/2023) Senator Lydia Edwards and Representative Mike Connolly, joined by 60 of their colleagues, launched the Housing for All caucus in the Massachusetts Legislature. At the inaugural meeting, legislators presented their priority housing policy ideas for the current legislative session on a myriad of topics including: homelessness prevention, tenant protections, support for first-time homebuyers, affordable housing production, zoning reform, revenue to support local affordability, anti-discrimination, and civil rights. 

“I am proud to launch the Housing for All caucus with Senator Lydia Edwards and so many of our legislative colleagues,” Representative Mike Connolly (D-Cambridge) said. “Today’s affordable housing emergency is without any precedent in modern history, so it requires all of us to come together to seek consensus on comprehensive solutions that can address each aspect of this ongoing crisis.” 

“I’m thankful to be joined by Representative Mike Connolly and many of my colleagues from the legislature in this work,” said Senator Lydia Edwards (D-Boston). “Everyday I hear from families in my district who are facing eviction, rent increases, and housing instability. I am committed to using every tool available to address the housing crisis, deliver immediate relief to families in need, and to work collaboratively to create a system that makes housing truly affordable for all.” 

The purpose of the caucus is to build consensus for policies addressing all aspects of the housing crisis. Initial areas of interest include: advancing the vision of Housing as a Human Right, working to end housing discrimination in all its forms, building support for local affordable housing policies and programs, and working with DHCD Secretary and the future Secretary of Housing to improve systems currently in place. The caucus will achieve these aims by supporting legislation, advancing budget priorities, expanding the knowledge base of members, staff, and the public, and by building collaborative relationships with the administration, legislative leadership, local housing authorities and affordable housing developers, and other key community stakeholders. 

The Housing for All caucus is being founded by a total of 61 legislators. In addition to Sen. Edwards and Rep. Connolly, members currently include:  

Sen. Adam Gomez 

Rep. Lindsay Sabadosa 

Rep. Joe McGonagle 

Rep. Adrian Madaro 

Sen. Liz Miranda 

Sen. John Cronin 

Rep. Alan Silvia 

Rep. Manny Cruz 

Rep. Judith Garcia 

Rep. Andy Vargas 

Rep. Margaret Scarsdale 

Sen. Julian Cyr 

Sen. Becca Rausch 

Rep. Mary Keefe 

Rep. Kay Khan 

Rep. Carmine Gentile 

Sen. Michael Moore 

Rep. Kip Diggs 

Rep. Carol Doherty 

Rep. Michelle Ciccolo 

Sen. Sal DiDomenico 

Rep. Carole Fiola 

Rep. Michelle duBois 

Rep. Smitty Pignatelli  

Rep. Christine Barber  

Sen. Mike Barrett 

Rep. Steve Owens 

Rep. Chynah Tyler 

Rep. Natalie Higgins 

Rep. Tram T Nguyen  

Sen. Cindy Friedman 

Sen. Pat Jehlen 

Rep. Vanna Howard 

Rep. Danillo Sena 

Rep. Patricia Duffy 

Rep. James Arena-DeRosa 

Rep. David LeBoeuf 

Rep. Peter Capano 

Sen. Jamie Eldridge 

Rep. Carlos González 

Rep. Priscila Sousa 

Rep. Jennifer Armini 

Rep. Dawne Shand 

Rep. Kristin Kassner 

Sen. Jo Comerford 

Rep. Erika Uyterhoeven 

Rep. Tony Cabral 

Rep. Sally Kerans 

Rep. Estela A. Reyes 

Rep. Joan Meschino 

Rep. Samantha Montaño 

Rep. Jack Patrick Lewis 

Rep. Rita Mendes 

Sen. Bruce Tarr 

Sen. Jake Oliveira  

Rep. Rodney Elliott 

Rep. Simon Cataldo 

Rep. Jim Hawkins